For more information: The Dublin II Regulation was adopted in 2003 and replaced the Dublin Convention in all EU Member States, with the exception of Denmark, which is disconnected from the regulations for enforcement in the area of freedom, security and justice. [1] In 2006, an agreement came into force with Denmark to extend the application of the regulation to Denmark. [4] A separate protocol also extended the Iceland-Norway agreement to Denmark in 2006. [5] On 1 March 2008, the provisions of the regulation were also extended by a treaty to third countries, Switzerland[6] which, on 5 June 2005, voted 54.6% in favour of their ratification, and Liechtenstein on 1 April 2011. [8] On the other hand, if the person already enjoys protection status in Greece (and therefore does not fall under the Dublin Regulation, but the security clause for third-country nationals), the Swiss authorities generally consider that the person can be transferred there. This has also been the case for vulnerable people. [71] The Federal Administrative Court even upheld the transfer of a psychologically vulnerable mother with four daughters (one of whom was suicidal) who had fled Greece because of the violence of her husband/father. [72] In only a small number of cases, the court asked the SEM to further clarify the situation of each applicant upon his return to Greece in order to consider whether the delegation decision should be accepted or not. [73] According to SEM statistics, 3 people were transferred to Greece as part of Dublin and 21 in 2019 as part of the readmission agreement. In 2018, 26 people were transferred to Greece as part of the readmission agreement.

[74] Since joining the Dublin Association Agreement, Switzerland has transferred far more people to other Member States than itself – in a ratio of about 4.5 to 1. The Dublin procedure applies only to third-country nationals, i.e. non-citizens of the Dublin Member States. When a person from a Dublin Member State applies for asylum in Switzerland, the Dublin procedure does not apply; instead, bilateral readmission agreements generally apply. The Dublin Association Agreement adopted by Switzerland on 12 December 2008. The territory of Dublin now has 32 Member States: the 28 Member States of the European Union and the four associated states, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Switzerland. The Dublin regime was originally introduced by the Dublin Convention, signed in Dublin (Ireland) on 15 June 1990 and came into force on 1 October 1997 for the first twelve signatories (Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and the United Kingdom), and on 1 January 1998 for Finland. [2] While the agreement was only open to accession by the Member States of the European Communities, Norway and Iceland, non-member countries, reached an agreement with the EC in 2001 on the application of the provisions of the Convention on their territory. [3] According to the SEM, Switzerland submitted a total of 4,848 requests for resumption or withdrawal in other Member States in 2019, compared with 6,810 in 2018 and 8,370 in 2017.

They were based on the following criteria: While Switzerland has for many years been one of the most popular countries of asylum, it is now considered a transit country for travel to northern Europe.